Three organisations offer professional business analyst qualifications in Australia:

  • International Institute of Business Analysis (IIBA®)
  • British Computer Society (BCS)
  • Project Management Institute (PMI)

IIBA® has the largest profile in Australia with over 4,000 local members.

The BCS qualification is well established (in the UK) and highly regarded but has had limited uptake in Australia. Some of their foundation level certificates can be obtained via online exams but these must be taken at approved testing centres.

PMI launched their business analysis qualification PMI Professional in Business Analysis PMI-PBA in the first half of 2014. The qualification is described by PMI as a business analysis qualification for project managers.

 IRM is an Endorsed Education Provider (EEP™) to the IIBA® (see below for more details).


Founded in 2003, the IIBA® is a not-for-profit association and has its international headquarters in Toronto, Canada. Worldwide the IIBA® has over 29,000 members organised into country/city chapters. The Australian chapter held its inaugural meeting in July 2006 and now has branches in Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney.

The main focus of the IIBA® has been:

  • Publication of the Guide to the Business Analysis Body of Knowledge (BABOK®)

    The BABOK® is a reference guide to the most widely accepted business analysis practices and describes business analysis areas of knowledge, their associated activities, tasks and the skills necessary to be effective in their execution. It is not a methodology – it doesn’t specify how business analysis for a particular project should be performed – but it is a compendium of best practices that business analysts can refer to. The guide is free to IIBA® members. Non-members can purchase it via the IIBA® website.

  • Release of Multi-Level Certification for Business Analysts

    In 2016 the IIBA® announced the new four-level certification:

    • Level 1 – Entry Certificate in Business Analysis™ (ECBA™)

      New for 2016, the ECBA™ is intended for people who have less than 2 years of work experience in business analysis or those with no experience who are looking to enter the profession. The qualification is obtained by sitting an exam which consists of multiple-choice questions based on the BABOK®. To apply for the ECBA™ exam you must have completed a minimum of 21 hours of Professional Development (21 PD Hours) in the past 4 years (see section below on IRM endorsed courses).

    • Level 2 - Certification of Capability in Business Analysis™ (CCBA®)

      The CCBA® qualification was announced in June 2010 as a mid-level qualification for business analysts with a minimum of 3,750 hours work experience in the past 7 years. As of January 2017, the IIBA ® reports that 930 people have obtained the qualification, 79 of them in Australia. The qualification is gained by sitting a multiple-choice exam based on the BABOK® guide. As part of the CCBA® application process, you need to have undertaken 21 hours of Professional Development (21 PD Hours) in the past 4 years (see section below on IRM endorsed courses).

    • Level 3 - Certified Business Analysis Professional™ (CBAP®)

      CBAP® was first released in 2006 and as of January 2017, the IIBA® reports that 7,594 people hold the qualification, 572 of these in Australia. To become a CBAP® the IIBA® requires proof of working as a business analyst (minimum of 7,500 hours in the past 10 years) plus you have to pass a knowledge-based exam. The exam is based on the BABOK®. As part of the CBAP® application process, you need to have undertaken 35 hours of Professional Development (35 PD Hours) training in the past 4 years (see section below on endorsed IRM courses).

    • Level 4 – Certified Business Analysis Thought Leader™ (CBATL™)

      The other new qualification announced in 2016 was CBATL™ for analysts with 10 or more years’ experience and who are recognised as thought leaders in the field. Obtaining the qualification will be based on peer assessment.



The IIBA® runs a formal program called the Endorsed Education Provider (EEP™) program and IRM has been a founding, charter member since the program started in 2006.

Before sitting any IIBA® exam, applicants must provide proof of certain number of hours of Professional Development (PD Hours). All IRM endorsed courses automatically qualify as Professional Development training and the completion certificate provided by IRM at the end of each course shows the IIBA® course code and the PD Hours completed. A copy of the certificate can be sent to IIBA® as part of the exam application process.

Current IRM endorsed courses are:


To see how IRM courses map to the BABOK® Version 3, go to the IRM course mapping page.

IIBA®, the IIBA® logo, BABOK® and Business Analysis Body of Knowledge® are registered trademarks owned by International Institute of Business Analysis. EEP and the EEP logo are trademarks owned by International Institute of Business Analysis. These trademarks are used with the express permission of International Institute of Business Analysis.